Sunny Side Up!


Review: Nissa Sunny!

I have been thinking about writing this one for a long time. Only paucity of time preventing me to do so. So here it is… short but very important review of the caaar that promises a lot to the Indian market. But will it deliver? Lets find out.

(c) carsingh.com

Exterior: Let me candidly admit that Sunny is not the best looking car around. It looks like a married female in her early 30s (sorry women, no offense meant). I hope you get what I wanted to say. While every other car is going for a look makeover, Nissan should have given Sunny tighter lines and more sporty look. Best thing about the look though is the paint job. Sunny comes in as many as 9 different colors and the paint quality is very good.

(c) Indiaoncars.com

Interiors: Sunny, as it is marketed, is all about the comfort it gives inside more than the looks outside. Every thing inside the car gives you a perfect Japanese feeling. The interiors are done up in Griege (grey+beige) and give the car a different feel, if not too luxurious. Audio systems, ABS, climate control and air bags come as standard and the higher version also has a push button start. Steering & gearbox are nicely placed and seats (+ steering) are adjustable. If the front seats impressed you the rear seats will drive you mad. There is so much space around that all three passengers can sit cross legged or one can make his small child stand between the front and rear seats. Sitting is very comfortable, ideal for long drives.

Driving: Sunny is powered by both Petrol and Diesel¬†engines, identical in capacity but different in power delivery. Petrol version is more peppier, generates 99 Bhp and is quick too, thanks to ultra light composition of the car. Diesel is again a typical Japanese feature. It doesn’t generate the power, but is very good at low speeds and I’m being told that the car this big returns an awesome mileage of 20kmpl on diesel. Though Sunny engine is silky smooth and is very comfortable to drive, the suspension is a little tacky. The car shivers on uneven roads (which are plenty in India). It is too kind on bumpers, allowing them to make the presence felt.

Competition: Best thing about Sunny is that it is at least a lac cheaper than all its closest rivals. It also has more space and almost the same features as others. These things are good enough for the car to sell, though in looks it is no where nearer to Verna or New Fiesta. Suspension is on a weaker side. But given the mileage and other features, it more than makes for it. After all you dont get every thing in one car, do you? So much I wish if I had a car with the looks of Verna, space of Sunny, suspension and ruggedness of Fiesta, comforts of City, diesel engine of Vento and services of a Maruti Suzuki. :-)

Overall: A very strong competitor. Cheaper and more spacious than its rivals. Will it be a winner? Only time will tell.

5 responses to “Sunny Side Up!

  1. do you intend to buy one? Give me a test ride, if you do….

    • No in fact I dont intend to buy it. Not that it is a bad car… dont intend to buy a car right now.

      I wouldn’t have bought Sunny anyway because for me the car’s handling and performance matter more than the looks, space or luxury. Sunny, I’m afraid, is not a driver’s car. It is a chauffeur driven car.

  2. Mayur, a lot of water has flown down the Mulamuthha since I lost contact with you. Primarily due to a series of incidents which include the coming of my father to stay with us, followed by the death of my wife, computer failure and changing over from Windows to Mac and so on. I rediscovered you when I went back to find an old blog post in which you had commented and I am glad that I did.

    I am beyond being interested in automobiles and hardly ever drive my five year old Swift as I prefer to avoid traffic and parking hassles and use the ubiquitous autorickshaws of Pune.

    I am however glad to see you blogging still and will henceforth visit regularly though I may not make much intelligent comments!

    • Nice to hear from you sir. I had also nearly stopped blogging for almost a year. It is tough to write these days. I created a dedicated url maxmayur.com. But now that it has expired, I’m back here. Look forward to more participation from you :-)

  3. Is this car really longer then it’s older version? on bonnet has been shortened and boot size is shortened to increase the leg space for the rear seaters?

Leave a Reply

