New Year Resolution!


I’m not a fan of making new year resolutions. I don’t think we need to wait for a new year’s day to make a resolution anyway. If you want to decide some thing good, every day is a good day!

Okay I made up the last one. I used to make new year resolutions when I was very young. I made that one up too… I’m still young. What I meant was when I was in college. So we used to make this ‘I-will-do-XX-this-year’ kind of new year resolutions. But I always found that all my new year resolutions turned out to be unrealistic and I ended up not following any of them. With time, I gave up on them. It must be at least 7-8 years since I made a new year resolution.

Yesterday I was reading through lot of twitter updates from my celebrity friends about how their party was and how they will spend the new year. Now when I say celebrity friends, I’m talking about actors (and actresses) and other celebrities from media & cricketing world. Yes I do follow them, not out of curiosity but amazement. It is fun some times to know who likes which football team, whose new album/film is releasing, who interviewed whom and who has slept for only 3 hours since a few nights. (Sadly, they dont mention with whom… oops sorry for that). So there were people resolving to do ‘some thing’ that they did not have or hadn’t achieved. It reminded me that there is some thing I missed all these years, which many others had. And I resolved to be ‘that’. 🙂

I think I was far too ‘less intimidating’ all these years than I would have liked. It is my general and unwanted observation that intimidating personalities usually have it better off in the day to day and professional life than others who are less vocal about their stuff. Imagine 4000 people working behind the scene and one big guy with his picture and interviews sprayed all over the magazines. Of course it is one guy’s talent to get things done, it is abilities to intimidate others by his towering presence. I remember the college days when, despite being a better writer, I could not get my articles into the college magazine for the first two years. I had to then use my authority of being a senior to get things going. Even when I was trying to get the the short stories published, I had a similar experience. Of the 11 publishers I approached, I don’t thing any of them had read my stories. Either they frankly refused or frankly asked for money. While I was just riding on the handful of readers I had, never trying to popularise the stuff.

But thats that! I have decided, rather resolved, to be a bit more intimidating from 1-1-11 onwards. See, what an intimidating date to start following a new year resolution which, for once, does not seem as excruciating as ‘I-will-lose-10kg’ kinds. Remind me of this post after a few months and dare me, if I have fulfilled my resolutions. Geez! That was an intimidating sentence. I’m on my way baby!!!

6 thoughts on “New Year Resolution!

  1. I think you didn’t check it carefully or may be I shared it with the wrong people. :rofl: It gives you a facility of putting them as a reminder which constantly reminds of you your resolution, the way you asked you readers in your above post. “…Remind me of this post after a few months and dare me…” 🙂

Leave a Reply

