The ‘Puntered’ Australian Wagon


Courtesy: Heraldsun.com.au

If you thought I made a spelling mistake in the title of this post, then I must say my mistake comprehends with the one made by the Australian selectors. The Australian wagon, touted as the most powerful juggernaut not long ago is indeed ‘puntered’, thanks to a handful of selectors at the ‘Cricket Australia‘ very ably lead by a near invincible man refereed fondly as the ‘Punter’.

If you are a cricket fan, I’m sure every one of you have witnessed the thumping Ashes win the English team earned over Australia. However I dont think it were the English who played better. Given the tentative batting by both KP and Cook, Indian spinners will beat them any day. It was more to do with the listless, toothless, spineless display by a generally aggressive Australian team that brought the shame. First, none of their batsmen played with authority. Yeah, Hussey and Haddin cracked centuries. But it always seemed that they were trying to save the match rather than win it on a Gabba pitch seemingly favourable for batting. This was proved by Strauss, Cook and Trott in the English second innings when they piled on more than 500 runs for the loss of just one wicket.

Bowing to pressure, CA and Ponting made wholesome changes to the bowling attack. The measures seemed very similar to the ones generally adopted by Pakistan Cricket Board. Drastic and illogical. So Mitchell Johnson was dropped as expected, so was Hilfenhaus though he looked to me as the best Australian bowler. But sadly, Marcus North was retained for a reason best known to CA and Punter. So was Michael Clarke. Ryan Harris and Doug Bollinger were brought in support of Peter Siddle and Xavier Doherty, still no sign of quality spinner (where is Jason Krejza?). What happened next? The team slumped even more.

Any other day I’d have loved the defeat suffered by Australia. I hate Ricky Ponting and I’ll do any thing to watch him search for desperate measures to save face. But it surprises me that some how I’m not liking it. I can imagine any one but England to defeat Australia so convincingly. You may hate Mike Tyson as much. But you’d not love to watch a bout in which Tyson is getting beaten by a bantam weight boxer. That is how it seemed. I think the English are over rated. Anyway, that is what I think.

Common Aussies! I know you can punch Andrew Strauss in the gut at the WACA in Perth. I want you to win the Ashes. I love to hate you guys. Please dont ditch me. 🙂

3 thoughts on “The ‘Puntered’ Australian Wagon

  1. “tentative batting by Cook and KP… ” was a bold statement. Besides I don’t think Englad are over rated. It was a much deserved victory for them. I am sure that the action is not over yet but even the favourite hunting ground WACA will not be as favourable to the Aussies as it used to be….. times are changing….

    • Well cracking double hundreds against a bowling attack like the one Australia presently has is no big deal. Did you not watch how uncomfortable Cook and KP were against some third rate spinners like Doherty and North? What would have happened if the same players were playing against Harbhajan Singh, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha… save Anil Kumble.

Leave a Reply

