Few minutes with the Purist!


For all those who know him, Nilesh Jagdale needs no introduction. For those who dont know him yet, this interview should give you an idea of how interesting he is. A friendship of 4 years is what we share. But when we talk to each other, I feel as if we both are 40, were born on the same day in the same hospital and the first conversation started when we let out our first cry. This may give you an idea of what and who I’m talking about. Enjoy the interview. I’m sure you will like it.

Talking to you gives all of us (our common friends) a feeling that you probably were born and grew up in the British era, suddenly went underground post independence and resurfaced now in your late twenties. Tell us where does this love of English language, diplomatic politeness and literary jingoism come from?

I had read a collection of short stories titled ‘Life’s Little Ironies’ and this statement of yours remind me that life is indeed full of ironies. At no given instance have I advocated the Victorian language of communication but have always felt we Indians have volunteered to carry ‘The white man’s burden’ to unimaginable lengths. Although English has mobilized India socially and economically  but I don’t think it will ever be the language that bonds us together (role performed predominantly by Hindi and other regional languages).

We are witnessing the changing times, the purists are now an oblivion lot, the age of fusion and casual talk is here to stay. But I firmly believe no matter how the language transcends its natural boundaries, its most valued feature will continue to be its ability to convince without hurting sensibilities of others.

Personally I have been influenced a lot by Hindi and have always felt I could not get enough of it now. I was fortunate to have read and discuss some Hindi literature from varied eras, regions and with varied themes. I truly feel Hindi as a language is absolutely scientific, rich and as good as any other language. As far as the so called British era language goes, I value it but have very weak association with it.

 

We worked together in a company and I thought you were caught in a wrong job. Now we don’t but still feel you are caught in a horribly wrong job. What do you think could be the right job for you?

Right job!! It’s a Utopian concept. I have accepted the fact that every couple of years there would be a compelling urge to do something else then what I have been doing. A friend of mine once said that there are 500 Fortune companies and we just have 30 odd years to work!

You are right on this one, it is an ongoing quest for me to find a job to settle for life . I guess, if at all I land a right job it has to be related to environment. I truly feel passionate about the subject but frankly haven’t found any avenue that would make enough economic sense to pounce upon. Please do let me know if you know any.

 

In the words of the renowned author Mr. P. L. Deshpande, Mumbai does not have a history. The only history Mumbaikar’s believe in is history of cricket. What do you think?

From being the first Ranji winners to reigning champions to producing finest cricketers from club as well as university cricket, Mumbai seem to have done it all. Most of us wouldn’t have watched a Kanga league match but must have definitely seen various cradles to Indian cricket at Azad Maidan, Bombay Gymkhana, Shivaji Park, MIG Club, etc. and for forty years we have had larger than life cricket heroes hailing from the city. Cricket is certainly one of the flavors of Mumbai.

Going back to the statement made by Mr. P. L. Deshpande, exact context of is not known to me but I have a different take on city’s perspective towards history. It has been my observation that Mumbaikars lives in present than any other city dwellers. Life revolves around ‘this’ rainy season, ‘this’ harvest of alphonso, ‘this’ Ganapati Utsav, movie releasing ‘this’ Friday … shows a lot keep happening here. Mumbai have had its fair share of history – first passenger train, launch of Quit India movement, first stock exchange of the country but current issues concerning the city have always attracted extra share of sound bites. I would like to leave this with a thought that history is constantly created here!

 

Aim of a Marathi manoos in Mumbai is to try and grab a govt. job, or at least a job in a bank, retire as an AGM, buy a flat in the distant suburbs, plan LTC holidays and visit Lalbaghcha raja. But I beg to differ. I’d like my readers to visit a Maharashtrian Brahmin’s life through your eyes. Can you help?

All I can Marathi manoos has been stereotyped a little too much. This is a very difficult topic to answer, every argument could be viewed as a defensive approach.

But have things really changed post liberalization? Only the nature of rat race has changed, everyone is striving for financial freedom and trying to make most of the boom cycle, is it not true in every city be it business community or service class.

Marathi manoos does have a notorious reputation when it comes to taking financial risks but views towards life has certainly changed, not shy of splurging for psychological satisfaction a slightly different lifestyle has emerged and everyone is seems to be joining the party.

 

I had coined 10 murphy’s laws on marriage long back and posted it on my blog. I’m quoting one here and I want you to comment on it.

A wife will always win all arguments. If she doesn’t, it is your fault. (Other 9 laws can be found here–> https://maxmayur.wordpress.com/2009/10/16/murphys-law-on-marriage/)

Hehehe…I can certainly say that Murphy’s wife would surly love this for projecting her as a headstrong person.

It was my firm belief that presenting ideas logically will always be accepted as long as the logic holds true but the realization of how wrong was I only came after my marriage. In the marital warfare, emotion is like a Nuclear Bomb and logic an off-target bullet. In an attempt to experience the ever elusive feeling of winning the argument, husbands also trod on the path of using emotion as a weapon but doesn’t know when and where to fire and results are easy to guess. Husbands may dare to engage in arguments but he should accept the fact that results will always be anything but favorable.

I certainly don’t want my wife to read this as again she will win it and once more it will be my fault.

 

Thank you very much for your time. Would you like to recommend some one to me who I can interview here?

Ajay Singh would be my pick, provided you are able to locate him

 

17 thoughts on “Few minutes with the Purist!

  1. I like the range of topics and Nilesh’s responses are as good as they can get, unfortunately I’m not that well read but posts like these really help!

    Fantastic stuff .. Mayur.

    All the best – Cheers AJ.

  2. Pingback: End of Season I. Now awaiting Season II « Mayur's blog

  3. Thanks guys for kind words.
    This has been a unique experience, only after being invited to interview I actually went through a blog in detail.
    Even after being in IT organization I feel IT revolution has bypassed me 
    Thanks Mayur.
    Mayur, count me as an additional follower to your blog.

  4. Languages’ most valued feature will continue to be its ability to convince without hurting sensibilities of others.- So True & I feel you are best at it- convincing without hurting 🙂 Good Questions & Nice Answers. So you are a celebrity already!!!!!

  5. I have always maintained that Nilesh has an excellent command over the English language(and HINDI too) but this one has left me flabbergasted.
    Mayur-fantastic article

  6. Well Nilesh is really a good person and he showed in this way! Basically interviews completly checks the tructh behind the face and yes Nilesh is a true persone!

    By the way really nice blog Mayur!

Leave a Reply

