Ye Khichdi Thodi Kachhi Hai!


I’m sure all of us have seen the popular television serial ‘Khichdi’. Jamnadas Majithia, the maker of the television serial decided to take a step further and made a movie out of the same concept. I watched it yesterday. No, I’m not going to review it here, I’m only going to give you my feedback. And here it goes-

Frankly speaking, I thoroughly enjoyed the 20 minutes of non sense in Khichdi, the serial, when it used to be aired on star plus. But I was a bit sceptical going into the movie, as I didn’t know what will come out if the same 20 minutes of non sense was stretched to 3 hours. Thanks to my scepticism, I ended up enjoying the movie.

So even this Khichdi, the movie, has the same star cast of Anang Desai as Babuji, Nimisha Vakharia as Jayshree, Supriya Pathak as Hansa. Rajeev Mehta as Prafull and Jamnadas Majithia (JD) as Himanshu. Besides the two intelligent kids are also there as narrators along with tons of Parminders as their neighbours (interesting concept by the way). There is no strong story line as such. Or should I say, no one bothers if there is a story line. The life of the movie are the characters, the angry Babuji, the so called intelligent Jayshree, the maverick Himanshu, the ever dramatic Hansa and the idiot Prafull. The movie picks up when they throw their trademark punches. Sadly there are no knock out ones. So some times you end up seeing and hearing what you expect them to do and laugh invariably. For the rest part, this Khichdi looks a bit undercooked.

Watch it if you like Khichdi- the serial, the Gujarati families or if you like making fun of Gujaratis. I’m sure 90% of the population will fall under this category. For others, this is just like any other post of Maxmayur’s Blog 🙂

5 thoughts on “Ye Khichdi Thodi Kachhi Hai!

Leave a Reply

