Folks and Reality


I remember how I grew up listening to stories from Mahabharata, Ramayana, stories of India’s independance struggle, stories of Chhatrappati Shivaji Maharaj and other many such great men. I have never known any one to exist… at least not the mythological characters, most of whom we call gods. But they were great stories of great men and I grew up learning different facets of life and personality from the characters of these great men and women.

Now that my son grows every day, I am back to the learning phase. I’ve already started revising what my grand father and mother told me as a child. The stories of gods, kings, great men of folks and the ideologies of well being. When the time has come to revise it, I wonder what if I could see them and know who they really were. I wonder what made ‘Arjun’ what he was. Or why did they call ‘Krishna’ the god when even he looked and behaved like an ordinary man.

The quest to find the answer led to a string of interwining thoughts crowding my mind. I think the men in these stories became what we remember them as only because they never gave up on what is right. Each of them had a purpose filled life. And they went till the end to fulfil their purpose. What differentiates them from us is that they never gave up. They just never did.

The world has changed a lot since the times of these great men… different times. What has not changed is the balance between the good and bad. We still have the evil that gave rise to great heroes in those times. We had martyrs of the freedom struggle who gave their lives for India’s independance. And we have the modern day heroes who are still fighting for making a terror free state.

When my son grows up, I’m going to teach him. I’m going to tell him the great stories of great men both from our age and the yester age. I’m going to tell him to go till the end in his quest, come what may. Because there is still some good left in this world. And it is worth fighting for!

5 thoughts on “Folks and Reality

  1. A hero is the person who hung on for 5 minutes more than the rest. So yeah it is true.
    Also they believed in themselves. Even when the world was against them, they had the courage to back themself up.
    P.S. Also teach your son to be a good human being. I know you will so the suggestion is a just a waste of time and space.

  2. Say about good to kids , as their hearts are pure they just believe what ever you say!
    You can even say about Biggie who is growing day-by -day and infact you as you have lot of popularity of your love stories!
    You just need to say good which multiplies!!
    And remember , Dad is the first hero for a kid!! so be a hero buddy!

  3. I rather wont mention anything like ‘GOD” exists, but mention about the characters each posses. For example: what are Lord Hanuman’s characteristics?? Brave, loyal, inteliigent . If I was taught these as good characters without the Ramayan storyline may be i would not have understood at that age. but what has that lead me to? for likes of me lead me to? To believe that God would come down in some Yuga to help mankind ??!! No I dotn want my children to be under that impression.. I want them to believe they are the ones who need to take action and responsibility and not God.
    I would rather say all the stories as stories and myths and enable them to know the moral rather than making them epitomise and believe there is a GOD.

    I am not a non God beleiver, But I am stauch non believer of fact that GOD helps us out from misery

  4. I thought I’d get a comment on this line.
    “Because there is still some good left in this world. And it is worth fighting for!”

    And that is why I want my son to go till the end.

    • “Because there is still some good left in this world. And it is worth fighting for!”- This line reminded me of my own one liner..lol “Everyone has a good side and a bad side and it depends on us which side we want to look at.”

      Don’t know how much your son would learn or not but I learnt at least 1 thing today from this post – “NEVER GIVE UP” to become like those great people. Anyway 5 stars to the post.

Leave a Reply

