Happiness is Relative


I read a blog by Scott Adams yesterday. He wrote about a hypothetical situation where all of us had a ‘Happiness Button’ on our foreheads. So how interesting it would have been to ask or go on pressing the happiness buttons of other people so that they could be happy. He went on telling the after effects of it, if at all it was to happen. Interestingly, only a day before I had had a short but amusing conversation with a friend about being happy against all odds. And I expressed by disbelief in how people choose to remain unhappy despite dwelling in most favourable conditions to live for almost 90% of their lives.

This reminded me of my own old theory, ‘Happiness is Relative’. Well it is not as complex as the theory of relativity. Just that one fine day few years ago, I found out that being (or at least looking) happy was very very easy. All you had to do was to relate your happiness to some thing happening around you. This is pretty easy to understand because that is what you have been doing all your life. You are happy because today is a holiday, because you won a mega deal, because the best looking girl in the class sat besides you, because your boss praised you, because you got a new job etc… … See, hadn’t you been relating your happiness all the way long? Now you would have a reasonable argument if you say that you were happy because there was a reason to be happy (Job, appraisal, girl, festival etc.). But none has been a case where you were happy first and then you chose to relate it to some thing. Well, I say if it can work that way, it can work the other way round as well.

If I start thinking that my theory is going to be accepted ‘as it is’, I need to resign from offering any more of my idiotic theories. Picking up from the conversation I had the day before, there are some people who just dont to be happy. Meaning, there are people who would use my theory exactly opposite. In fact, all of us sane people who aren’t easily bullied by problems in life also fall pray to this. Let me take an example of my own self. I have a blog and I know about 25-30 people read it almost daily (though I know the number of hits per day are more). A reason to be happy enough? But only about 5-6 of them comment, and that too occasionally. So my weird brain wouldn’t think about the brighter side. It would think about why people dont comment… and be sad despite the fact that number of hits is fast approaching the 100,000 number. If only I could relate to happier things, I’d be a cheerful guy.

You think it is easy to be happy? Or perhaps you think there should have been a happiness button on our foreheads. So that you could at least keep pressing others buttons in order to be happy yourself. Whose button comes to your mind? Your Mother-in Law? Your boss? Your neighbour? Or your weird girl/boy friend? ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

11 thoughts on “Happiness is Relative

  1. they are so many things that could pull you down
    so many more that make you frown
    but a few other that that you need to count,
    the ones that make those lines disappear,
    bring some cheer and leave you happier!

    Actually I like this ‘press the button’ concept! I’d press the button and actually I do at times and it works on my colleague N’s forehead a small little thing and she has tears in eyes, a sad face and unhappy state of mind !

    PS: a very meaningful post Mayur !

  2. So you need comments to be happy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yeah, very nice philosophy indeed!
    most of the times we need to press our own button to get out of the frustration!

  3. well… it is a nice thought and i think people would try to exercise that option very often… (in form of some one else or one himself/herself) but what worries me more is that once you get used to the button… and one fine day if it stops working then what next… “there could be malfunctions always”….

    • Sunil Nair!!! ???
      Where the hell have you been mister? You completely vanish from the scene 3 years back and one fine day you bump into my blog and post a comment. How great can that be?
      The button (by Scott Adams) and the relativity (by Mayur Pathak) are imaginary concepts. But yes; if they were in reality, who knows, the life could have been different.

      โ€œthere could be malfunctions alwaysโ€ — proves you have been in an Indian IT company all these day ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Pingback: Keep a Positive Attitude – 3 Quick Steps to Instantly Bringing Success in Your Life « Healthforme.co.uk

  5. Mayur… i did the vanishing act… but… could not stay vanished for long… u made me comment on your blog… “i am caught now” lol… how r u…? yes i am very much working with an Indian IT organization… and by the way Mayur… the word malfunction did not originate from India…. “lol”

  6. Nicely explained theory Sir ji, *hats off* Pressing “Happy” button for you by commenting here. Just one question – “Why one is not allowed to press the button himself/herself ? When no one will press that button then one will have to press it himself/herself right?”..ha ha

    • @Shalini: Thanks. But I guess you will have to ask that question to Scott Adams and not me. I guess if we were allowed to press our own happiness button, every one would have ended up being sad.

Leave a Reply

