How Healthy is Healthy?


I have been battling with this question myself for last one week. The reason for my pondering is the fact that I fell sick after eating healthy food. 🙂

Let me tell you the whole story. Last week, my wife tried a tiffin service from Vital Foods. They provide healthy and nutritious tiffins to office goers. She liked it, subscribed it and also ordered one for me. It was a nice tiffin with one vegetable, one salad, high protein daal, an appetiser, rice and four chapatis. I had it for 3 days, but didn’t really enjoy it. So I discontinued and went out to eat on Friday. On Saturday, I fell sick.

Now before you draw conclusions about the poor guys at Vital Foods, let me tell you that it will be unjust to squarely blame them for my illness. The problem is with myself. I have been away from home for several years now. My early jobs were such that I have survived most days on crappy food. Even after marriage, we get to eat the complete home made food only once a day, thanks to our work culture. Despite that, I manage to stay healthy. My body has endured the junk storm and has been adapted to the crap now.

I’m not joking! This is damn serious thing. I was telling Rats that humans have a tendency to adopt to the environment and conditions. We go to cold climates and we adopt. Similarly we go to humid conditions and we adopt too. But look at what we are doing to our lives? We have an AC in the living room, AC in the bedroom, AC in the car (or cab), AC in the office… and reduced immunity in our bodies. To battle that, we are trying to eat the basics and what the nutritionists suggest us. So that the body some how gets the nutritions and stays fit. But boy! you are not allowing your body to adopt at all. And moreover your central ACs are polluting the environment… so more global warming (meaning more ACs).

Coming back to food, I went a step ahead and checked what and where my building watchman eats when he is on duty. If I show you the place, you might develop nausea just looking at it. But he eats there and does a work that commands utmost physical fitness. He is healthy. I haven’t seen him taking sick leaves at all.  I tried talking to the security guards and house keeping staff at the office as well. Same result. But if we eat there, we will fall sick. Why? because our body is not used to eating that level of crap.

Adopt guys! Adopt yourself. It is all in the mind!  🙂

2 thoughts on “How Healthy is Healthy?

  1. Right. It is all in the mind!!! I am surviving on outside food from past 7 yrs too. And I am sure lots of others do. I have also seen ppl staying at home, having healthy food and still falling sick.

    But don’t undermine the benefits of a healthy diet. It does help in the long run…

Leave a Reply

