How to define freedom?


I seriously want to know how do you define freedom. India’s 62nd independance day is just around the corner. We take all the pride in the world to celebrate it and boast the fact that we are free. But what do you exactly mean by free?

Is smoking on the road, spitting on the compound walls and cursing the Municipal corporation for not doing its duties called as freedom?

Is voting for the relatively less corrupt self proclaimed leader means freedom?

Is sweating it out day and night just to clear the GRE and flee to US for a better living called freedom?

Is outraging some body’s modesty in public called freedom?

Kicking out the so called outsiders from your city and being a falsified self proclaimed guardian of the culture called freedom?

Guys, if you are reading this… please do not just pass away. Take 2 minutes of your time in writing a comment. Please define freedom for me. I want to feel free.

5 thoughts on “How to define freedom?

  1. Independence day is the day when we got freedom from the British Rule. It meant we are free to run our own country, choose our own leaders and make our own policies. Yes we are now free!!! Free only from the British rule. We are yet to get freedom from corruption, Injustice and rampant suffering. We are yet to get freedom from prejudiced mindsets…

    Freedom has a different meaning to each one of them. Our freedom fighters fought with the British to get back the reins of our nation from outsiders but now it is up to us to find out the true meaning of freedom and act accordingly to create a truly liberated nation.

  2. Free.. are we ?

    For me freedom would mean, when anyone and everyone can walk into a hospital for treatment without worrying about the bills… It hurts to see people like me walking like lost souls in Pvt hospitals because I may not be in a position to afford the treatment.

    The day every child can walk into a school for quality education and not made to stand on the road for begging or selling books and other stuff… Imagine, they can’t read but they sell books to others, anything worse than that?

    The day we start treating everyone with respect and not look down upon them because of their social status or the work they do… A sex worker and house help deserves as much respect as you and I do!

    Freedom means many more things to me in my personal capacity as well like I want to feel secure when I walk on the roads. I don’t mind paying the taxes, in fact the Govt is welcome to take more but use it for those who need a share of our income and not for running places like the parliament where they spend something over 20 lacs a day and the results are negligible

  3. I tried to write an apt comment to this post, but I found my words weren’t really enough. Then I remembered a poem I had read as a kid, so I’m posting it here. Hope this suffices as a comment

    “Where the mind is without fear and the head held high;
    Where knowledge is free;
    Where the world has not been broken up into fragments by narrow domestic walls;
    Where words come out from the depth of truth;
    Where tireless striving stretches its arms towards perfection;
    Where the clear stream of reason has not lost its way into the dreary desert sand of dead habit;
    Where the mind is led forward by Thee into ever-widening thought and action;
    Into that heaven of freedom, my Father, let my country awake.”

  4. Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google your post looks very interesting for me. I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

    I’m Out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

