Maharani Gayatri Devi


Maharani_Gayatri_DeviI’m feeling very sad deep inside my heart that Rajmata Gayatri Devi is no longer with us now. She passed away yesterday at the age of 90. No, I was not connected to her in any way. (But alas, wish I could have been, anyway). But I’m her fan just like that.

My association with her (rather her fame) goes back to my late teens. I read her interview in Times of India’s erstwhile supplement, Men & Women. I think I was 17 or 18 then. I was instantly awestruck by the aura and the splendor of her beauty. She must be approaching 80s by then. Yet one could feel the charisma in the way she had answered the questions. A princes from Kooch Bihar and a descendant of the Gaikwad family of Baroda, she was married to Sawai Mansingh II, the enigmatic Maharaja of Jaipur. Gayatri Devi was once included inVogue magazine’s Ten Most Beautiful Women list.

I will miss you Maharani!

PS: After some hunting I finally laid my hand on the book. “A Princess Remembers: The Memoirs of the Maharani of Jaipur”. Believe me, it is a very good read.

4 thoughts on “Maharani Gayatri Devi

  1. hey mayur! I’m adding a comment fr the first time on ur blog.. hopefully many more to come 🙂

    It is indeed very sad news about this wonderful lady. I saw a documentary on her on star world a few years ago and she looked so stunning. She was a very sophisticated lady. We would sure miss her.

Leave a Reply

