Why do I blog?


blogJust had an interesting conversation with my friend on the above topic. I’m just trying to reproduce it here as much as I can.

Friend: Mayur, Tell me why do you write a blog?

Me: Well… I write a blog because I like writing and expressing my views.

F: So why not write a diary?

M: It is very tedious write. Typing is easier… we are more used to it you know.

F: Then why not write it in a word document?

M: I can do that. But then I like expressing views in a public domain. Moreover I’m not limiting myself to only expressing views. I also write movie reviews, love stories, general reviews etc. People read it, comment on it and help me improve myself.

F: So you write it because people read it? You mean to say you write it for them?

M: You are not completely wrong in saying that. Yes, the readers do encourage me. But they don’t necessarily inspire me to write more. I will continue to write even if I lose my readership.

F: So you don’t write it for popularity, do you?

M: See, popularity for me here is getting discount on purchase of salt or any other necessity item. I’m going to buy it irrespective of the discount. However getting a discount makes me happy none the less. Popularity for me is similar to this instance.

F: Hmmm… but then still there are other ways to express yourself. Why blog?

M: Blog is like my personal notice board. I can put on it whatever I feel like. And there’s a small visitor book in there where my readers can log their appreciation, curse or complaints. I want to make my views public with an effort not to offend any one. At the same time I want to get appreciation for the good work I’m doing and correct myself for the bad one I’m being pointed for. Makes sense?

It Did! My friend was happy… so was I    🙂

5 thoughts on “Why do I blog?

  1. Thats true. But lot of people dont find it worthwhile to comment. I know few of my friends who read my blog regularly for sure. They mention it offline. But they never comment.

Leave a Reply

