Me, Myself and Mayur


Anniversary Week Special

I start the celebrations of the first anniversary of my blog today. As a gesture of obligation and courtesy, I have decided to let few of my regular reader visitors to pen down their thoughts. Having said that, I thought could I do more to mark the beginning of this day? So what better way than to let people know who they have been reading since last one year?

Mayur

Mayur

So am I addressing a routine question, “Tell me about yourself?” My full name, just in case you dont know, is Mayur Dhananjay Pathak. I’m a Marathi Brahmin. While I’m extremely proud to be both Marathi and Brahmin, I have been ranting about the fact that I’m more proud to be an Indian. Anyway, thats not the point here. I remember during my early days, I used to introduce myself as the king of birds, Peacock (also the meaning of my name). I’m as ostentatious as a Peacock, thats what I would tell the interviewers. But the real fact, which not many of you know, is that I was predominantly a shy kid. I hardly had any friends till almost my 8th or 9th grade. As an average student academically, I was self conscious and had a terrible inferiority complex. But suddenly it changed. May be on some day, in some month and in some year I had this revelation that I can indeed be a stage, or atleast a public personality. There was one small thing in me that made me change my perception about myself. It was my little sense of humor and the ability to mimic others. I’d enjoy making others laugh. The upsurge of confidence that got instilled in me during my early days has carried me through till date.

I’m born to artist parents. Both my mother and father are commercial and professional artists. My mother enjoys painting on mostly unconventional medium, such as pots, jute, cloth and at times on walls. Whereas my father has transformed himself as an interior decorator. One of his greatest works are the paintings on the biography of Dr. Hedgewar, inspired and painted just by reading a book, and being honoured at the hands of Shri L. K. Advaniji. Probably they too wanted me to be an artist. I obliged them by winning a national level drawing competition at the age of 8, but nothing there after. Soon I figured out that the creativity in me was not in my hands, literally. I enjoyed strategising Dad’s business and suggesting them ways to promote his services… as much as I enjoyed writing. But I must also admit one thing here. The inspiration to write did not come to me from within. In my sweet adolescence, while I was conceiving a play for my class, a friend suggested that I should take up writing as a regular activity. In a bid to impress, I merely obliged.

Though I’m not at all a successful or for that matter a better writer, let me tell you a secret of being a good author. There are only two things to be a good author. One you need to be exceedingly imaginative and two, you need to keep your reader glued and guessing. I have learnt this as a mimic artist. It is important to open your cards slowly and carefully. If you master it once, it gives you the confidence to apply it every where in life. I did just that when I came to Mumbai about little more than 4 years ago. Having lived out of my parents home for couple of years, I thought I was ready for the demanding a pacy life in this city of dreams. But within the initial days I found out that only dreaming wont do. Having waded through the floods on 26th July or from the bloodbath on the Borivali station on 11th July, the city has taught me to fight. Most people reject me today in job interviews because they say I’m supremely confident, arrogant and hence I cant be tamed. However they dont know that it was the confidence and will that has helped me to come out of the jaws of death. I came out of a life threatening experience 3 and half years ago with bruises and scratches. I could only do that because of the confidence and the instinct not only to survive but to excel.

Today when I look back at my life, I feel satisfied of coming this far. I have survived the bad ones with finesse and presided over the good ones with composure. I’m a budding entrepreneur. I’m married to a beautiful and lovely woman (I consider myself very luck though 🙂 ). And I have recently acquired a possession in Mumbai. I’m a happy man gunning for more. Thank you all of you!

PS: Look out for guest posts in the days to come 🙂

15 thoughts on “Me, Myself and Mayur

  1. Congratulations on completing your 1 year with this Blog…:-D
    Good to know more about you. It seems you are quite a fighter and a head strong person.

    Just one more question if you don’t mind. What are you eating in the picture?

  2. Congratulations ! Very inspirirng story. Really looks like the story of a struggling person. Liked it. Hats off to you. So you liked Nainital Sir? Isn’t it the size of that chana zor garam(one you are holding) is bigger than it should be :p

  3. Congratulations !I send glad congratulations And heartfelt wishes, too,
    For joyful happiness and love In everything you do

  4. Congrats Mayur! Looking forward to may more anniversary specials and coming back each time to read a lot of wonderful stories and thought provoking discussions…

  5. This is great honor, especially when the appreciation is coming from you. 🙂 Thank you very much.
    PS: I’m waiting for your guest post

  6. Hello!
    Got to know you more as a person, I was knowing about some of your achievements and all that happened to/with you through a single source, but today after reading all this, for me u r a very big man.

    I feel proud to work under your guidance.
    Thanks for the opportunity.

  7. I knew that you must have been Marathi by lokking to your blog title about Gangs of Wassepur…so searching in your “about” page to prove my guess right… aweful is the word that comes in my mind for you..( cant resist myself to say this to you.)

Leave a Reply

