The native touch


Mumbai is a cosmopolitan city.In my bay in the office, I sit in the midst of a crowd with varied backgrounds and cultures. I have a mix of population from almost all the parts of the India. So understandably, we speak in a dialect of India… Hindi. I like the language and there is absolutely no qualms about not being able to speak in Marathi, my mother tongue. But as an after effect, I’m beginning to lose touch with Marathi (I have to sadly admit that as even my wife is a North Indian). So whenever I meet a native, especially some one from in and around Nagpur any where, I make it a point to speak in Marathi.

I ended up speaking a couple of Marathi sentences with a person who interviewed me today (I’m NOT looking for a job!)

What is wrong in this?

7 thoughts on “The native touch

  1. “I like the language and there is absolutely no qualms about not being able to speak in Marathi, my mother tongue.”

    Uumm…a TRUE marathi will never say this..having absolutely no qualms about not being able to speak one’s mother tongue..is like having absolutely no qualms about kicking out one’s mother from the house and bringing in some other woman in her place!
    No wonder you are married to a north indian! most of the men who have true marathi blood decline to marry a north indian, and if at all they have to marry a north indian, they would insist that she learn marathi.
    so i dont think you have marathi blood..so just stop calling youself a maharashtrian..coz u r not. start calling yourself a bhaiyya !

    • It is people like you who embarrass the Maharashtrian community. I’m an Indian first and Hindi is my mother tongue as much Marathi. Only if people like you could have been less coward, the Marathi community would probably might have emerged as the best and wisest.

      I pity you. May god bless you and your tongue.

  2. Oh am I sounding sad? Not at all. The sadness is for the fact that I hardly get to speak my ‘other’ mother tongue Marathi because even my wife is a ‘Hindi’ Brahmin. I’m not complaining though. And let me also clarify that this doesn’t in any way reduce my love and respect for Marathi literature.
    🙂

  3. What has knowing Hindi to do with being an Indian??? Hindi is just a regional language..it’s not national language.

    and do u also have two mothers..since u have two two mother tongues?

Leave a Reply

