The Leader in Me


I have this strange feeling since last few days. I’m following the Lok Sabha polls very keenly like any other normal Indian will do. Which means I’m cursing and taunting almost every political leader. May be its wrong, but the problem is I dont know who is good and who is bad. So like others I’m giving the benefit of doubt to all of them, saying all are bad 🙂

But there is one thing which is unlike others. I dont want to say I’ll not be a politician because it is bad. No! To be very frank, I want to be a political leader. The thought is not an impulsive moment.

I have been dabbling with politics like situations till date. I remember when I was in school, I was unanimously voted by all teachers to captain one of the four houses we had. I was only in my ninth grade and still leading a batch of 300 odd students. Although I couldn’t win the school championship, I had individually won 5 trophies (3 in sports and 1 in mimicry and 1 in debate). My teachers said I should become a lawyer. I was only 13 then and I didn’t know what a lawyer does. As I grew up, I was also chosen as the school representative in my junior college. I had once led a walkout because the class wanted a teacher to be replaced but didn’t have guts to speak to the principal. Needless to say, I was also one of the top performers in the college.

My engineering days had more challenges in store for me. I have studied in one of the best privately managed colleges in Maharashtra, which meant it had the best of students competing against each other. I fell behind academically. But I more than made it up with cricket and extra curricular activities. I soon discovered that I was more suited to the literary activities, stage performances and debates to be specific. I soon started writing articles, some of them featured in news papers as well. I was the master of the ceremony and also hosted one of the best fashion shows happened that time around in my city. During my third year engineering team, I joined the elite central editorial team of the magazine committee, a post I carried till I left the college. I had also represented the college in a tech-fest organized by IIT Chennai. I narrowly lost the branch presidential elections by just two votes during my final year, but remained on the central managing committee of the cultural fest of the college.

I went on to do my masters in management from Pune univ and have represented the class for entire duration. During my first job, I revolted against an unruly boss and his antics. It cost me my job, but his mistakes cost him his as well. Since then I have been a dominant figure wherever I went. I now own a company along with my 4 other partners and I still lead them.

Please dont think I’m trying to impress you. I’m just trying to instill confidence in you (and me). So that if I decide contest polls, you probably will know who to vote for. I might probably be successful in pulling some people out of their homes and vote. Believe me, I’ll be a good leader.

One thought on “The Leader in Me

  1. Pingback: The Leader in Me

Leave a Reply

