Jumbo King


Being  Mumbaikar for last 4 years, I have always savored on the best Vada Pavs available in the town. Despite trying out at various locations, Jumbo King still remains on the top of the list.

jumbokingI remember when I landed in Mumbai for my first job, how I used to rely on the Jumbo King stall outside the Andheri Station. I had to report to the office in BKC at 8:30 every morning. This meant I had to get up and run for the 8:06 churchgate local. With strict conditions in the office and no provision for eating some thing early morning at home ( a PG accomodation then), I was thankful that Jumbo King had helped with my breakfast me for almost 8-9 months.

Later I shifted my job and the route changed, so did the place. But my love for the Vada Pav remained. I used to specially locate centres where I could get the best Vada Pav. And thank fully Jambo King has always helped. It has a presence across the railway station in Mumbai. So I remained always accessible to good taste.

I have since bought both a two and a four wheeler and haven’t really traveled by train for last 2 years. So when I found and went to the MIDC Andheri outlet of Jumbo King few months back, I was taken by surprise. The store is quite big and also offers many other services such as Mini Meals, Sandwiches, Pav Bhaji amongst other things. They have also anointed a vendor to offer South Indian snacks and Rolls. Not only that, the Vada Pav is now available in variety of flavors such as Schezwan, Chhole, Paneer Makhni, Butter, Chees and all.

I must say Jumbo King has truly revolutionalised the traditional Vada Pav. Way to Go!

2 thoughts on “Jumbo King

  1. 🙂 Mayur, try the Vadapav at this joint – its a small family owned joint, but the Vadapav is marvellous – Its in Vile Parle (E), just beside Parle Pearl Society, at the intersection of Tejpal Scheme and the road which goes from Parle Tilak Vidyalaya towards Varma tailors.

  2. I know I know, I think I have tried already. I think the name is Parleshwar Vada Pav. Its on the Hanuman road intersection isn’t it? They also make amazing Patodi 🙂

    Mmmmm… Delicious!

Leave a Reply

