Nostalgia


There are some days, when you feel like grabbing a cup of coffee, pulling a chair in your balcony (or sitting in the bay window) and remembering all the good things that have ever happened to you. Well I’m in my office. I had loads of work and hardly got time to eat, forget coffee. Yet I’m feeling nostalgic. Have you ever been through these things in your childhood?

  • When I chased kites on busy roads, risking my life although I could buy two of them in a rupee.
  • Had a ice gola on a stall outside despite being warned by mom about how unhygienic it is. Not telling her, yet she managing to find from your red and yellow tongue.
  • Had Pani Puri around the corner of our area, 8 pooris in 1 rupee.
  • Remember when I wanted to buy a new cricket bat but Papa didn’t allow because I didn’t know how to play with it.
  • I remember beating my neighbor because he once laughed at me when I fell down while cycling.
  • I remember watching the Air Force show and fearing when the planes went really close to us while we were sitting and watching.
  • I also remember when Papa was not doing good in business and how our family shared a Luna (moped). They were tough times walking kilometers to the market for fetching vegetables.
  • I remember my mom crying when I wanted her to buy a toy for me for securing good marks in exams. She had no money. I remember how my parents never fought, despite troubled times.
  • The first time I went to a cricket stadium to watch the match.
  • And then I remember when Papa bagged a big contract, how we all celebrated on a dhaba.
  • Learning to drive our first car, and driving really rash. Good times were back.
  • The first time I proposed a girl, I was just 16 and didn’t know what I was doing. 🙂
  • And then the first time when I kissed.
  • I remember when my papa gifted me a bike on my 18th birthday. I remember driving it at high speeds, trying to impress girls.

To be fair there are so many things I’m remembering, I’m losing count. Sigh! Good ol’days.

2 thoughts on “Nostalgia

  1. Mayur, This is a very nice post except that you are sounding almost like a man of my age!

    Let me give you something to mull over. A favourite quote of mine from a book that I rank among the best ever written by anyone.

    “…..the opportunities to act properly, the potentialities to fulfill a meaning, are affected by the irreversibility of our lives. But also the potentialities alone are so affected. For as soon as we have used an opportunity and have actualized a potential meaning, we have done so once and for all. We have rescued it into the past, nothing is irretrievably lost, but rather, on the contrary, everything is irrevocably stored and treasured. To be sure, people tend to see only the stubble field of transitoriness but overlook and forget the full granaries of the past into which they brought the harvest of their lives: the deeds done, the loves loved, and last but not least, the sufferings they have gone through with courage and dignity.

    From this one may see that there is no reason to pity old people. Instead, young people should envy them. It is true that the old have no opportunities, no possibilities in the future. But they have more than that. Instead of possibilities in the future, they have realities in the past – the potentialities that they have actualized, the meanings they have fulfilled, the values they have realized – and nothing and nobody can ever remove these assets from the past.”

    Viktor E Frankl – Man’s Search for Meaning.

Leave a Reply

