Professionally unprofessional


An umpteenth company rejected my application for a job today. No surprises for me. Most of the times I go to companies to get rejected. Anyway, I’m narrating you a sequence of events of my job interview an extremely professional IT company (as they are known outside. They are US based) and their unprofessional ways when it comes to rejecting.

Nov. 3 2008: I receive a call from the recruitment manager of this ‘professional company’ where I’m breifed about the role and screened for a skill sets match. I’m called for a personal round the next day.

Nov. 4 2008: I reach there at the stipulated time only to find the recruiting manager out of office. I’m told he is on his way and some one else will attend you. Then after waiting for half an hour and repeated reminders, some other HR personnel asks me to appear for a test. I protest but agree to take it. Following the test, I’m interviewed by some guy, who I identify as a sales executive. I wonder, if I’m being hired as a manager, why is a junior guy interviewing me? Finally I get to meet the recruitment manager of this ‘professional company’ who makes me fill out a form and tells me that they will get back to me in 2 days.

Nov. 7 2008: I write the manager back, asking for a polite feed back. ON the same day evening, he sends me an email saying I was rejected and apologises for it. I’m obviously surprised, but ask him a feedback as to what went wrong.

Nov. 10 2008: I get a mail from the same manager telling me they found my English inappropiate. I’m surprised. Upon asking, he tells me that its not how ‘Americans’ like it. I thank him and feel that I was indeed lucky.

Nov. 13 2008: I get a call from the same manager from the ‘professional company’ offering me a second chance to qualify myself. I decide to honor the call for a good will, but clarify the profile before hand. I’m called the next day.

Nov. 14 2008: This time I ned up waiting for an hour before I’m given a chance to improve upon my earlier test. On asking, I’m told that the test is the part of the recruitment process. (Basically it required me to compile answers to questions featuring in a typical proposal document. It also had a creative writing section.) I’m again told that they will get back to me.

Nov. 27 2008: AFter few reminder mails and two calls, I finally hear from the ‘professional company’. The manager tells me that I will get a call from a director based in Bangalore, India. He calls on the same day. We spend another 85 minutes on phone discussing about me, about the role, the company, global market, recession etc. Finally he says I’m shortlisted and I shall hear from the HR shortly. I dont!

Dec. 8 2008: After umpteenth reminder, I get to know that I was rejected. No reasons given, no explanations offered.

After a month long procedure, I was told I’m not suitable. To be very frank, I didn’t understand what they were assessing in me. I feel I was hard done by so called ‘professional company’

5 thoughts on “Professionally unprofessional

  1. But come to think of it, one of my friends also went through a similar ordeal with a company he was applying to, but not at the same scale 🙂 They initially rejected him on grounds that his English was not up to the mark, but later called him back due to I don’t know what…

Leave a Reply

