Rock on Review: Magik is brimming


Farhan Akhtar rocks! This should sum up the entire review about this intriguing movie. Since I’m a fan of bearable rock music, I loved the way movie is made. After a long time I’m writing a review that is so much unlike any other movie reviews I have written or read till date. And I must admit I’m giving all credit to Farhan Akhtar, Purab Kohli, Abhishek Kapoor and Prachi Desai. After “Taare Zameen Par” this is a movie that has left a humble feel good taste on my mind.

Watching the movie reminded me of my engineering days when we friends used to gather on a rooftop of a friends house and sing songs. Those were the days of dreams, aspirations in our big eyes. Little less than a decade over and I’m still struggling with my ‘so called stable’ job. Following your dreams is important. But some times you never know when and how you are going to cross path with a long lost friend who was once a part of your starry eyed dreamy world. The movie made me to go back to my shelf and read ‘The Alchemist’ again.

“Rock On’ is all about four guys, Aditya (Farhan), Joe (Arjun Rampal), KD (Purab Kohli) and Rob (Luke Kenny) and their quest to make it big in the rock music world. With matching aspirations, they come together to form a amateur band ‘Magik’ with a dream to make it big. However their quest to hunt for ‘that one big chance’ demands too much and hit the dead lock. Magik fails to cast its spell and with all the sacrifices made, they take up different lives in different directions. Having spent 10 years ruing their missed luck, they meet again thanks to Sakshi (Prachi Desai) Aditya’s wife for four years. And the Magik starts brimming again.

Frankly speaking I wouldn’t have watched the movie if some one narrated me this story. However the way its been made, you ought to fall in love. I particularly liked the sensitivity with which the story is dealt. Impeccable timings of songs and rivetingly emotional portrayal of characters by the actors make this movie a must watch. Music is suitable to the sequences and you will like it if you like rock. Almost every actor has done really well. Special applaud to Farhan, Prachi and Shahana since its their first movie.

I’m not rating this. Its too emotional. If you guys know what it is to see a dream and if you have faced the agony of letting it slip out of your hand… If you let your eyes loose because you had to sacrifice some thing… If you were a team that crumbled like a pack of cards… You will relate to Rock On.

5 thoughts on “Rock on Review: Magik is brimming

  1. hmmm..pretty good review…am about to go for the movie..thought i’d see a few reviews…u got me excited…lets see…do drop by to see how i review it if ya have time bro!!
    tata

  2. Pingback: Rock on!! reviews - CrazyEngineers Forum

Leave a Reply

