Thinking is such a waste of time


This was a punch line in one of the Hero Honda CBZ advertisement. Although I don’t believe in that line at all, I found the attitude of the male model who acted very addicting. I think it was about little more than a year before that this ad had featured on television. I used to drive a Honda scooter that time (Honda Dio to be specific.) Still I liked to flaunt the attitude, despite being opposite. I think too much.

Anyway, the punch line I believe, came from somebody’s brain who has a keen sense of observation. Because thinking indeed is a waste of time for lot of people around us. They distributed the appraisal letters in my company today. As expected, 99% of my colleagues were unhappy. (PS: I escaped the appraisal this year because I left my earlier company on the brink of financial year ending and didn’t join another one till the start of new financial year). This is absolutely normal, considering 15% average appraisal is ‘low’. So I asked the guys if they were enjoying the work. The common answer was, yes but salary is very low. So I asked what was the reason for joining, or for that matter working in this field? They said their friends were getting paid higher elsewhere and they wanted to join them too. My next question to them: What motivates you, money , brand name, designation or profile? People had distributed answer… when I asked why or why not? They had NO answer. Then came my or any body’s nonpareil question… the one, ‘What is your aim in life? OR Have you thought about a career path and do you know how to achieve it?’ You wouldn’t believe, most of them said who cares… I want big salary, posh office, plush apartment, and I want to enjoy my life. Excuse me! How on earth do you think you can enjoy? Forget enjoyment, how are you planning to achieve it? Why do you people not think?

My wife gets surprised when I reject new job offers. One company had offered me double the salary I’m earning right now. I said no, because it didn’t allow me to reach where I want to go. I don’t THINK thinking is a waste of time. There is more to it, but I’m too eager to push for the weekend. :lazy:

PS: We recently interviewed Mr. Subu Goparaju, VP and Head SET labs, INFOSYS on Crazyengineers. Click here to read it.

Leave a Reply

