At 140 KMPH on the express highway.


Cloudy skies, pleasant temperature, wind gushing from both sides, the road dividers hardly visible, exhilarating experience and the only sound you hear is that of the tyres. How do you feel when you are driving a near perfectly engineered small car, the Suzuki Wagon R on the 8 lane express highway at 140 KMPH?

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! Whoooooooooooo Hooooooooooooooo!

This is how you feel. It was a mind boggling experience to drive the car on the express highway. I was on my way to the first ever CE meet, on my first ever journey to Pune in my own car on the express highway. Gosh, so many mile stones. And I didn’t keep any of them unturned. En route Pune, we had a brief stop over in Panvel at my friend’s place. Panvel to Pune is roughly 124 kilometers. about 20 kms out of it is through the tunnels and around the hills. Despite that we covered the distance in about 73 minutes. That is at an average speed of about 102kmph! Whoa, I was surprised by the stability and the driving comfort given to me by the wagon R. Incredible. No other car in this segment would have given me the confidence to drive at that speed.

Through out the journey, only 8 cars could manage to go ahead. Two Toyota Corolla, One Chevrolet Forrester (SUV), Two Mercedes (One brand new Kompressor E250 and one old SL300), One Prado Land Cruiser, One Honda Civic and one BMW 325i (my favorite car). Well, what do I say, I’m impressed by my car. Of course you can’t compete with the Mercs and the Prados and the BMWs with a car who has an engine of 1.1 liters.

I’ll post a picture soon. More updates about my journey and about the CE meet coming up.

4 thoughts on “At 140 KMPH on the express highway.

  1. i also bought a wagon r one month back and i m also really very much happy with its performance, till now i hav reached a top speed around 100km/hr with no vibration and gr8 control, looking forward for more such trips in my new car

Leave a Reply

