Keh ke le li!


 

(c) Wikipedia

Anurag Kashyap is a good man. And till I saw Gangs of Wasseypur I thought he was a brilliant director too. But after watching GoW, I’m compelled to believe that he too has fallen in the trap of sleaze. I’m sorry, strong words but I cant help it.

I simply loved the way Black Friday was made. I am a fan of narrative style of film making. And that, I must say, is the best part of Gangs of Wasseypur. But that apart, AK has gone over board in portraying, what now the whole of India believes dirty side of Jharkhand (erstwhile Bihar). I’m not sure if this is what he wanted to show.

We are Indians. Where our heart truly lies is in creativity shown in its vibrant best mood. The reality is we don’t go to movies to watch what is happening in the neighborhood. Some times we like movies that touch the real picture in the country (Black Friday, Bandit Queen, Paan Singh Tomar) and we get impressed with the heroics of some of us. We are a country where Ram kills Ravan, Krishna kills Kansa and Arjun lords over the Kauravas. Though I agree that there are more demons fighting with each other than gods in this Kaliyug, I dont want to see them in the crudest possible manner.

This is indeed my personal opinion about a movie I felt was a bit too much to digest. I now hate Anurag for making me watch it, because I loved him till GoW. But I have had enough of it now. I want to believe that AK didnt direct any movie after Gulaal and didnt produce any movie after Shaitaan.

We love you AK, but we hate Gangs of Wasseypur!

One thought on “Keh ke le li!

  1. Everything has a good side and an ugly side to it. Yes, it has some sleaze and crude language is used at many instances, but having lived a significant part of my life in that place, I can safely vouch for its genuinity. And as i see, it is better to show reality in its whole if you are making a film like GoW.

Leave a Reply

