Nokia takes us for a drive


(c) liveside.net

I was a fan of Nokia drive. Though I never had a Nokia phone that had the ‘drive’ functionality (because I am not a fan of Nokia phones. I haven’t used a Nokia for a long time), I had heard good things about it and had used it some times on some one else’s phone. This Sunday we decided to put it to use. It failed miserably and I have decided never to use a Nokia phone again (forget drive).

It was a rainy Sunday and my family declared they wanted to go on a long drive. Every one goes to lonavala. So we decided we will got o a new place called Arnala. We had heard there is a beach resort and the road to Arnala is very scenic. I knew which direction to take. So we set off at around 10am. Quarter of a way ahead, we thought instead of asking people,we will us Nokia drive on my wife’s Lumia. And like an obedient husband I followed the lady and the phone, some times ignoring the directions given even by locals. :-)

At around 1pm after 2nad half hours of driving through scenic roads and a half hour unscheduled wada pav – samosa break, we had traveled only about 30kms. We had reached a point where there was no road ahead (only boulders that damaged one of the reams of my vehicle). The phone was saying “You have reached your destination”, my wife was saying sorry my Nokia disappointed, the other three members of the car were livid about the whole thing and I was staring at an open plot full of muddy water. :-)

It took me 10 minutes and some ultimate driving skills to take a U turn on that piece of land. It was a husband’s time to share I told you so glances. After all I was always against buying a Nokia. It had ruined the day. We returned with frustration as now we didnt have much time left for a picnic. Thankfully the weather was kind. We had some local food, lots of bhutta, bought a score of Mangoes and finally set off for a return journey. This time the drive functionality said sorry I cant connect to the network as if it was too embarrassed to show us the directions again.

Thanks Nokia!

3 responses to “Nokia takes us for a drive

  1. You should be thankful to Lumia, at least it gave up before you landed in further trouble :-)

  2. N they say lumia is the latest technical wonder by nokia..I can find resemblance btn ur ride n nokia..lumia can b a dead end fr nokia..”You have reached your destination.”

Leave a Reply

